Congratulations to Westlawn's 5th Grade Team!

Excellence Award Recipient for Student Achievement

Accolades and Awards
October 20, 2019

Westlawn's Fifth Grade Team is a 2019 FCPS Excellence Award Recipient for student achievement! 

Westlawn Grade Five Team Award Winners  Ramona A Harris, Kevin A. Heron, James Honnold, Tracey C. Jackson, Tiffany A. Jones, Chrysanthi Kyrgos, Grant Maloney, Robyn Mejia, Hanah Nam, Kaleigh O'Donnell, Sean Stuebner, Meghan Winters, Anna Yim, Jaime Bousman-Stanczak

The team contributes to student success by closing achievement gaps, measuring progress, using assessments, implementing interventions, and student engagement. Westlawn's 5th Grade team is a dynamic, diverse, dedicated, inclusive and hardworking group. The team contributes to student success by attending to each of their students through a whole child approach: academics, behavior, and wellness. This team is an inclusive team (general education, special education, ESOL, resource teachers, and school guidance). They have high expectations of each other and hold themselves accountable. The team’s collective experience spans one to 19 years. The Fifth Grade Team truly embodies the motto, “These are all our kids.” 

The 2019 FCPS Excellence Awards Ceremony was held at Fairfax High School on October 16, 2019. The Ceremony was led by Superintendent Dr. Scott Brabrand and Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Helen Nixon. In attendance were members of the FCPS Leadership Team, members of the FCPS School Board, and other distinguished guests. Seventeen FCPS teams and 14 individuals were recognized over the course of the evening with an informal reception followed by a formal ceremony. In total, 106 FCPS staff members were recognized across four different categories: Growth, Impact on Others, Innovation, and Student Achievement.